Section Navigation


There are a range of options for getting to Comberton Sixth Form but in the majority of cases students are responsible for organising and paying for their transport. Only students from low income families will qualify for subsidised travel. To see if you qualify, please click here.

The 16-19 Bursary Fund can also be used to help pay for transport costs. This is administered by Comberton Sixth Form and more information on eligibility and application can be found by clicking here.

In order to ensure students can travel to Comberton Sixth Form we will be operating 7 bus routes covering the following areas:

St Neots area

This bus starts in Little Paxton and covers St Neots (Market Square and Cambridge St/Longsands Rd), Eynesbury, and Abbotsley.

Potton area

This bus starts in Potton and covers Gamlingay, Warseley, Gt Gransden and Lt Gransden.

Royston area

This bus starts in Royston and covers Melbourn, Meldreth, Shepreth, Foxton, Barrington, Orwell, Little & Great Eversden and Kingston.

Bassingbourn area

This bus starts in Bassingbourn and covers Litlington, Steeple & Guilden Morden, Croydon, Arrington, Caxton, Lower & Great Cambourne, Bourn Broadway and Bourn.

Swavesey area

This bus starts in Longstanton and covers Northstowe, Willingham, Over, Swavesey, Fen Drayton, Fenstanton, Hilton, Papworth Everard and Hardwick.

Cambourne area

This bus starts at Great Cambourne and covers Upper Cambourne, Bourn turn, Childerley and Caldecote. There is also the option of the Stagecoach 18 service, which is detailed below.

Sawston area

This bus is an extension of the council's CB07 route and starts in Sawston and covers Stapleford, the Shelfords, Hauxton, Harston, Haslingfield and Harlton. 

Girton area

This bus starts in Bar Hill and covers Girton, Oakington and Dry Drayton.

The timetables for each of these routes as well as the council services can be found in the panel on the left of this page. For travel from Grantchester or Coton students should apply to the council for a spare seat. You can do this by clicking here

Cambridge Area

There is also the Stagecoach 18 service, the timetable for which can be found here. This is a public bus which runs an approx. hourlly service between Cambridge city centre and Cambourne and has stops in Newnham, Grantchester,  Barton, Comberton, Toft, and Bourn. Stagecoach has recently launched a new Student Smart Card for regular users. However this requires students to also carry an ID card. Comberton Sixth Formers can use their college ID cards alongside their Smart Card. For those not in the sixth form, ID cards are available free of charge from Stagecoach. Send them a passport-style photo, first and surname, return address and the name of the school attended to Student ID, Stagecoach East, 100 Cowley Rd, Cambridge CB4 0DN. Travel with a Student Smart Card but without ID will be refused after October 31st, 2019.  


For further information about any aspect of bus travel please get in touch with our Transport Manager, Judy Czylok, at

Information for those travelling to Comberton by other methods is also available in the panel on the side of this page.

Students are asked to arrive at their scheduled stop five minutes before the bus departs and wait for 30 minutes before returning home if the bus does not arrive. However, after 15 minutes you can call the bus company (for a Comberton-run bus) or the council on 0345 045 5208 if you are buying a spare seat on one of their services.